Reverence For Life

 

The other day, I happened to think about a woman that I used to date when I lived in Baltimore. The thought seemed to come totally out of the blue, like : “I wonder what she’s up to these days”.

We pretty much lost touch, and I didn’t have any relevant information on her, so I googled her. To my surprise, I found out that she passed away in November of 2009. I sat with that for a minute. I really didn’t know how to feel. She was 34 years old, and one of the first things I wondered is if she had a good life. I wondered if she’d enjoyed herself on this earth and claimed her corner of the world which was mainly designed by her.

A couple of years ago, my Dad wasn’t doing so well physically. I’d never witnessed him in that condition before. As I stood in the hospital, I tried to keep my mind from moving into the territory that asks: “what if he’s not here anymore?” It’s these types of experiences that remind me that it’s important to let people know how you feel about them when you have the chance. Yes, it may sound cliche’ and some may even say “corny”, but there are millions of people everywhere who wish they had one last chance to speak to their friends, family and even those that may have irked them in unfathomable ways.

Every day, I talk to people who have “issues” with a certain individual; people who despise their job, or feel as if they’re in a dead-end relationship. Or, they’ve reigned themselves to the fact that they’re never going to find the type of love they desire. I log into social media and see people complaining about almost every single thing that you can possibly name before I can even take my first sip of morning coffee.

My fundamental questions to everyone are relatively simple: When do you make time for the goodness in your life? Are you enjoying yourself? Are you participating in activities which are aligned with your true interests? Are you pursuing a life’s work which speaks to a deeper part of you? Keep in mind, this doesn’t have to be written on a business card or in some corporate directory. It can simply be a niche that you’ve carved out for yourself. A space where you simply get into your “zone”.

Sometimes we have to rewind.

If only in our minds, Most of us have that time in our lives that we can return to which we view as being relatively simple. We must ask ourselves:  What really turned us on? What made us laugh? Where did we find our enjoyment? What enhanced our life’s?

The more I live, the more I realize what we ALL have to do to being MEANING to our lives.

It’s up to us.

Very few of us are going to get hit by a rock falling out of the sky followed by revelation “from the heavens” that we should be a doctor, lawyer, astrologer, etc..

There’s a certain amount of introspection we need to undertake to decide what we want our lives to look like. Then, we decide a realistic means for getting there.

I think that this really starts with a reverence for life. A profound respect for what we’re here to do, whatever that may be.

Not all of us are going to be rich, famous, “conventionally” sexy or attractive or “brilliant”, but we can practice the perfect enjoyment of becoming.

We can create a life for ourselves which bears our unique signature.

One thought on “Reverence For Life

  1. Me too. Searched an old lover – who happily had remained a friend – and discovered he had died. Way too soon. Perhaps Venus SD with Saturn at 29 Scorpio bringing these memories to mind….

Leave a Reply

