Hexagon Astrology Magazine Is On The Shelves of Barnes & Noble !

Hexagon2

So, I walked into Barnes & Noble bookstore yesterday and I was pleased to find Hexagon Astrology Magazine on the shelves.

I’m excited that Astrology is continuously getting more exposure to the world. I give props to Matt Savinar for providing a medium for many up and coming Astrologers to gain visibility and recognition for the work that they’re doing, as well as including  great articles from some of the larger, more recognizable names.

Secondly, I have an article in this magazine which I really enjoyed writing.

For those who don’t know, I’m a serious Hip Hop head right down to the core.

I’ve been greatly influenced by the entire culture as well as many of the artists and the things they’ve had to say over the years. When I first started practicing Astrology, I knew that it was essential that I incorporate hip hop in some way shape or form. I also view hip hop as a tremendously vibrant, creative and innovative art form which has the power to change the world and infuse fresh air into a modality such as Astrology.

I look at Astrology as an art, just like Hip hop. HOW you say it matters just as much as what you say. delivery and choice of words is key. 

Having had continuous exposure to the Hip-Hop community and Astrology, I’ve come in contact with some extremely interesting people. My hopes are that I will be one of the catalysts that influences Astrology to take a closer  look at Hip Hop and Hip Hop to take a closer look at Astrology.

I want to also give a serious shout out to the Astrologers who have also sparked the effort to reach out to the Hip Hop community and give them something they can relate to within their interpretations. Now, more than ever, I think it’s time that we have fresh analysis and synthesis and place it beside what’s continuously repeated over and over again.

Astrology needs cultural diversity in its views. So, while I appreciate all of the charts I’ve seen of almost every president who has been in office , or the Kings and Queen’s of every country, we also need to look at the birth charts of  Nas’, Lauryn Hill’s, Rah Digga’s,  and Kendrick Lamar’s the world – just to name a few.

The personalities within the Hip Hop community are just as multi-varied and complex as the standard astro fare that’s been served up for years that’s contained in almost any publication in circulation.

Someone once told me that “you have to be the Astrologer that you want to see”.

Today, I receive this sentiment with an open heart and I will continue to do just that.

HexagonArticle

 

Hopefully, your local Barnes & Noble bookstore has Hexagon on it’s shelves.

The article I’ve written is entitled “The Night That Changed The World: The Birth of Hip Hop Culture”. The night refers to August 11th 1973 when Kool Herc threw the back to school jam Which incorporated the elements of what we now know as Hip Hop.

There are many discussions about when Hip Hop “came about”, but I found 8/11/1973 to be the most widely recognized date. I find it quite interesting to simultaneously look back and forward and see all Hip Hop has become with it’s strengths and foibles in tow.

If your local Barnes & Noble doesn’t have it in stock, and you’re interested in subscribing, you can go to : hexagoninfulleffect.com for more information.

I appreciate each and every one of you who read this blog and I’m hoping that my writing has, and continues to widen your scope of knowledge and perspective in some way. I’m very much a part of the Hip Hop generation and it’s reach as a social movement has spanned the globe. I hope to be a conduit of the words of wisdom it has to offer as well as an honest critic of its missteps.

2 thoughts on “Hexagon Astrology Magazine Is On The Shelves of Barnes & Noble !

Leave a Reply

