Body Shaming On Social Media

If we’re involved with social media to virtually any degree, there are permeating themes that are almost impossible NOT to notice.

One of these issues centers around Men, in general, applying their criticisms to Women’s weight without engaging in critical self-examination.

As a stocky, well-built man who loves his share of great food, wine and imported beer, I can advise Men that it would serve to benefit us to think about these criticisms more thoroughly and to ease up on the judgment.

Here some of us sit, on our couches, remote in hand, with every sports package available, ready to do damage to a 12 pack. The words “gym” and “workout” have suddenly become oblivious to our vocabulary.

Image

Simultaneously, we’re indicting Women for “failing” to keep their bodies up to our “impeccable” standards. Only adding to the tremendous amount of pressure and scrutiny Women are under to begin with. This is of the hypocrisy “do as I say, not as I do” at its finest.

Let’s face it: It’s not an inaccurate statement to say that in general, Men have been given a pass on their looks. They’ve been sequestered from the societal microscopic dissection of their body image. Women have not.

 

There’s rarely, if any a persistent, glaring message which tells Men: “if you don’t look like (fill in the blank)  Women won’t want you.”

There may be exceptions to this, but on the whole, we’re given somewhat of a societal pass from harsh judgement when it comes to our physical appearance.

Because of this, a large number of Women have fallen into the trap of allowing Men to dictate their feelings about their weight and overall self presentation. 

Women: while a Man’s insensitive, poorly worded comment about your weight may initially take you aback, please consider that setting and maintaining your own standards in this area combined with seeking well intentioned, reasonable advice in the areas of nutrition and exercise is a strategy which deserves full consideration.

 

Your life comes down to how you view yourself and how you feel. Being comfortable with a constantly evolving you in all areas of your life, devoid of a toxic Man’s pseudo-“assistance” is of utmost importance. Please remember that if you’re not at peace with the Woman inside of you, whether you weigh 110 or 310 pounds, true joy will continue to be elusive.
4 responses to “Body Shaming On Social Media

  1. Men don’t restrict this to social media. Ive always had a fluncuating weight- never fat but up n down between very thin and thick. My husband prefers me bigger; I don’t. I feel happier and healthier at a smaller size, and it is surprising to him that my self image is not totally dependent on what HE likes, but instead about how I feel. He used to discourage me from going to the gym and dieting. I know his heart was in the right place but it took him time to understand that it wasn’t about him, but about me.

    • Hi!! Thank you for the comments, and I’m sincerely glad that you’ve been able to listen to your inner voice and follow what resonates with you both physically and emotionally. I appreciate you taking time to stop by the blog.

      Jason

  2. Thanks for addressing the body shaming issue. The sad part, I think, is when women adopt this behavior as well – I’ve seen many comments of the “health police” variety, lowkey bashing women who happened to be “overweight” (which is a pretty vague and fluctuating concept in our society considering how twisted is our definition of “normal”), and they were coming from other women. “Why is this site promoting obesity”, “she’s unhealthy and you shouldn’t paint her as an example”, etc. etc. It makes me truly sad to see how some women themselves are internalizing patriarchal standards seemingly without realizing but I also see we’re headed towards an era of universal body acceptance and self-love that wasn’t possible before.
    My weight is considered “acceptable” by today’s standards, but I had a hard time accepting my body for most of my life, so it’s great to see a man promoting self-love for women.

  3. hey… thank you for reading. I’d seen it occurring on such a frequent basis that I felt compelled to say something about it. I definitely agree about the universal body acceptance issue and I think many people are confronting that within themselves which opens the door for acceptance. it’s always good to see you, and thank you for your work.

Leave a Reply

